This morning I had one of those nice little surprises that tends to send people off in a better mood-- and it did-- but I'm almost embarassed to talk about it. Though obviously not embarassed enough not to talk about it on the internet.
I put on a jacket of mine that I haven't worn in a few months, because it's too light for winter, but dark for spring, blah blah. I put my hand in the jacket pocket... and find money! Hooray!
Usually this discovery is usually along the lines of a few dollars, or maybe a $20 from an ATM visit you forgot about. But oh no... this was 82 DOLLARS. And about 50 of those dollars was in 5-dollar bills, so it was a WAD of cash.
First reaction, of course, is "Hooray! I am awesome and have been given a bounty of cash from my old self!" And this is where most peoples' stories of finding money in old coats end. But my jubilation was immediately followed by "My God, what is WRONG with me? How did I have $82 that disappeared and I NEVER NOTICED."
I've never been the best person with money, or remembering where I put things, or being a functional human (that's another post), but come on now. I'm not exactly so rich-- $82 is about 5 hours of the blood, sweat, and occasional feces of babysitting--that I can forget about large sums of cash. I'm now wondering who is the person whom I owed $82 who never got it, or which old lady I knocked over to steal her hoarded wad of bills. It's entirely possible this lady was my mom.
I walked out of the house feeling pretty jubilant, I have to say-- "I just found cash, so I'm going to the grocery store and buying pre-washed grapes and I'm even gonna be late for work, 'cause I'm rich, bitch!" Buying a new MetroCard was pretty satisfying, as I had just serendipitously found the amount of money it costs, plus a little. But I have a feeling that discovering I'm that kind of person-- the one who forgets about major amounts of money, regardless of how it came to be in my possession (which I still don't know)-- is going to nag me for a little while.
In other news: weather.com is calling for sprinkles all afternoon. Too bad the Baskin Robbins 31 cent scoop night isn't until tomorrow, because sprinkles sound delcious right now.
Tuesday, May 01, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment